9.7 C
Los Angeles
Thursday, March 23, 2023
HomeTop NewsPremier League Hall of...

Premier League Hall of Fame: 23-man shortlist.

Premier League Hall of Fame: 23-man shortlist.

Premier League Hall of Fame: 23-man shortlist.
Thierry Henry and ex Newcastle hitman Allan Shearer

English football fans always love to debate about the competition’s greatest ever players. The conversation is currently hotting up with the Premier League unveiling its first entrants.

Moreover, it’s hard to dispute Thierry Henry and Alan Shearer out of the equation, with the two players regarded as the league’s greatest ever player and goalscorer respectively, so who else will follow in their footsteps?

Premier League Hall of Fame

The Premier League has been saturated with much world-class quality over the years, which makes the task of choosing the next in line after Henry and Shearerto be incredibly tough.

As such, the Premier League has called upon the fans themselves to help them decide, compiling a 24-player shortlist that will be whittled down to six Hall of Fame entrants based on supporter opinion.


Premier League unveil new shortlist

And now the Premier League has just dropped its shortlist. Here is the full list.

1. Tony Adams

2. David Beckham

3. Dennis Bergkamp

4. Sol Campbell

5. Eric Cantona

6. Andy Cole

7. Ashley Cole

8. Didier Drogba

Premier League Hall of Fame: 23-man shortlist.

9. Les Ferdinand

10. Rio Ferdinand

11. Robbie Fowler

12. Steven Gerrard

13. Roy Keane

14. Frank Lampard

Premier League Hall of Fame: 23-man shortlist.

15. Matt Le Tissier

16. Michael Owen

17. Peter Schmeichel

18. Paul Scholes

19. John Terry

20. Robin van Persie

Premier League Hall of Fame: 23-man shortlist.

21. Nemanja Vidic

22. Patrick Vieira

23. Ian Wright

Premier League Hall of Fame criteria

As explained by the official Premier League website, players must have retired by August 1, 2020, and amassed at least 250 appearances in the competition, unless they meet any of these criteria:

1. At least 200 appearances for one Premier League club

2. Selected for any of the Premier League Team of the Decade or 20-Year Anniversary teams

3. Won a Premier League Golden Boot or Golden Glove

4. Voted as Premier League Player of the Season

5. Won at least three Premier League titles

6. Amassed either 100 Premier League goals or 100 Premier League clean sheets (goalkeepers only)

Who do you think will carry the day?

LIKE OUR: FACEBOOK PAGE                                               JOIN OUR: Telegram Group.
JOIN OUR: Facebook Group.                                             JOIN OUR: Telegram Channel.

- A word from our sponsors -

Most Popular