Wednesday, February 8, 2023

Messi, Mbappe, Giroud Golden Boot race plus the top stats from Qatar 2022 World Cup

Messi, Mbappe, Giroud Golden Boot race plus the top stats from Qatar 2022 World Cup

As we anticipate the second FIFA World Cup semi-final and who will face Argentina in the championship game on Sunday, now is the ideal opportunity to reflect on the past three weeks.

Who has scored the most goals, who has been Mr. Selfless and set up the most goals, and who has received the most red and yellow cards?

The journey to World Cup success began with thirty-two teams, but only four remain in the semi-finals: Argentina, who faced Croatia in the first of the two semi-finals, and Morocco, which faces France in the second.

This is the most significant statistic, but there are many more as well. Here are the Qatar World Cup in numbers (so far).

Most team goals scored

After exiting in the quarterfinals, Argentina or France are likely to surpass England’s total of 13 goals scored. Argentina and France are now on 12 and 11, respectively. Six of those England goals were scored in the opening victory against Iran.

The race for the Golden Boot

Kylian Mbappé of France and Lionel Messi of Argentina are now in first place with five goals, followed by Olivier Giroud, who became France’s all-time leading scorer with his goal against Poland, and Julian Alvarez, who both have four goals. 

Seven players are tied with three goals, but none of them are still in the tournament after the quarterfinals, therefore they cannot add to their total.

Previous winners of the Golden Boot

Germany and Brazil have produced the greatest number of Golden Boot award winners. Other nations, like Argentina, England, and France, have also produced champions.

Harry Kane became only the second Englishman to win the Golden Boot, surpassing Antonie Griezmann by two goals with six goals scored in 2018.

Gary Lineker was the first English player to win the award in 1986 after scoring a hat-trick against Poland, two goals against Uruguay, and six goals in a quarterfinal loss to Argentina. A match in which Maradona scored the legendary “Hand of God” goal.

Other notable victors include Frenchman Just Fontaine, who remains the only player in World Cup history with the most goals scored in a single tournament (13).

Gerd Müller became the first German to win the Golden Boot with ten goals in 1970, and Ronaldo won the title for Brazil with eight goals in 2002.

The two goals he scored against Germany gave Brazil their sixth FIFA World Cup title.

World Cup Golden Boot winners

1930: Uruguay

Top scorer: Guillermo Stabile (Argentina)

Goals: 8

1934: Italy

Top scorer: Oldrich Nejedly (Czech Republic)

Goals: 5

1938: France

Top scorer: Leonidas (Brazil)

Goals: 7

1950: Brazil

Top scorer: Ademir (Brazil)

Goals: 9

1954: Switzerland

Top scorer: Sandor Kocsis (Hungary)

Goals: 11

1958: Sweden

Top scorer: Just Fontaine (France)

Goals: 13

1962: Chile

Top scorer: Florian Albert (Hungary) Valentin Ivanov (Soviet Union) Garrincha (Brazil) Vava (Brazil) Drazan Jerkovic (Yugoslavia) Leonel Sanchez (Chile)

Goals: 4

1966: England

Top scorer: Eusebio (Portugal)

Goals: 6

1970: Mexico

Top scorer: Gerd Muller (Germany)

Goals: 10

1974: West Germany

Top scorer: Grzegorz Lato (Poland)

Goals: 7

1978: Argentina

Top scorer: Mario Kempes (Argentina)

Goals: 6

1982: Spain

Top scorer: Paolo Rossi (Italy)

Goals: 6

1986: Mexico

Top scorer: Gary Lineker (England)


1990: Italy

Top scorer: Salvatore Schillaci (Italy)

Goals: 6

1994: USA

Top scorer: Oleg Salenko (Russia) Hristo Stoichkov (Bulgaria)

Goals: 6

1998: France

Top scorer: Davor Suker (Croatia)

Goals: 6

2002: South Korea/Japan

Top scorer: Ronaldo (Brazil)

Goals: 8

2006: Germany

Top scorer:Miroslav Klose (Germany)

Goals: 5

2010: South Africa

Top scorer: Thomas Muller (Germany)

Goals: 5

2014: Brazil

Top scorer: James Rodríguez (Colombia)

Goals: 6

2018: Russia

Top scorer: Harry Kane (England)

Goals: 6

Fastest goal

In Canada’s 4-1 loss to Croatia, Alphonso Davies was the most alert after the referee’s whistle, scoring after just 1 minute and 8 seconds.

The next quickest goal occurs almost two minutes later, when Morocco’s Hakim Ziyech scores a 35-yard chip against Canada in 3 minutes and 31 seconds. With only three matches remaining, it will be difficult to unseat the Canadian from the top spot in the rankings.

Most assists

Harry Kane of England, Bruno Fernandes of Portugal, Lionel Messi of Argentina, and Antoine Griezmann of France share the lead with three assists each. Argentina are already in Sunday’s final, and France is the only remaining team, thus Messi or Griezmann are sure to finish as the tournament’s best assist players.

Most clean sheets

Morocco and Argentina are in first place with four clean sheets each. Prior to their semi-final encounter against France, Morocco have only played five games.

Their single goal versus Canada was an own goal. England trails on three, but is now eliminated.

Most yellow and red cards

During South Korea’s encounter against Uruguay, Paulo Bento became the first coach ever to receive a red card at a World Cup match.

Wales’ Wayne Hennessey was the first player to be sent off in Qatar, during his team’s 2-0 loss against Iran.

Cameroon’s Vincent Aboubakar scored the game-winning goal in their shocking victory over Brazil, but was sent off for his celebration after receiving a second yellow card.

Walid Cheddira received two yellow cards in a matter of minutes during Morocco’s 1-0 quarterfinal triumph over Portugal, leaving the north African side desperately defending for their lives in the match’s final stages.

In Argentina’s victory over the Netherlands, referee Antonio Mateu Lahoz issued sixteen yellow cards (one short of the record) and a red card to Denzel Dumfries.

Most penalties conceded

Kane scored the first penalty in France’s quarterfinal victory over England, but missed the second.

Messi, Mbappe, Giroud Golden Boot race plus the top stats from Qatar 2022 World Cup

Stay in touch!