Man City dominate the Champions League Team of the Year as seven Treble-winning players make cut

Related Articles

Man City dominate the Champions League Team of the Year as seven Treble-winning players make cut

After Manchester City’s triumph in Istanbul on Saturday night, their dominance is reflected in UEFA’s choices for the Champions League team of the season. 

The panel of UEFA’s Technical Observers has announced their picks for the top squad in Europe’s premier club tournament for the 2022-23 season. 

Despite being the losing finalists, Inter Milan managed to secure two players in the team, while semi-finalists Real Madrid also contributed two players. However, Manchester City truly shine with seven of their players making the cut.

 Pep Guardiola’s team showcases their superiority in the midfield and attack, occupying five out of the six positions in those areas. Nevertheless, there are two defenders and a goalkeeper from Inter Milan, whom Manchester City overcame en route to their glory.

Among the Real Madrid players included in the 11, Thibaut Courtois stands out as one of them. His exceptional goalkeeping skills played a crucial role in aiding the Spanish giants’ journey to the semi-finals. 

However, they were ultimately eliminated by Manchester City, who defeated Chelsea in the previous round. The only player in the front three not representing Manchester City is Vinicius Junior, the standout performer from Real Madrid.

 He made significant contributions to the team, scoring seven goals en route to reaching the semi-finals.

The chosen back four includes Inter Milan defenders Alessandro Bastoni and Federico Dimarco. Alessandro Bastoni, aged 24, participated in 12 matches throughout the Champions League campaign this season, including playing for 76 minutes in the final against Manchester City on Saturday.

Federico Dimarco, aged 26, showcased his full potential by playing the entire 90 minutes in the defeat against Manchester City in Istanbul. It was his 11th appearance in the Champions League tournament. 

Despite being listed as a substitute for the final, Kyle Walker, a Manchester City defender, is included in the selected defenders. Ruben Dias, another standout player from Manchester City, joins the Inter Milan duo as part of the named defenders. 

The majority of the team is indeed dominated by Manchester City’s triumphant stars, who achieved a historic Treble.

The three midfielders selected for the team are John Stones, Kevin De Bruyne, and Rodri. All three started in the midfield for Manchester City in the final match in Istanbul. However, Kevin De Bruyne had to leave the pitch in the first half due to a hamstring injury. Rodri made a significant impact with a powerful strike in the middle of the second half, securing the Champions League title for Manchester City, in addition to their triumphs in the Premier League and FA Cup.

Joining Vinicius Jr in the team are Bernardo Silva and Erling Haaland, who were also recognized by UEFA for their exceptional performances in the Champions League this season.

Manchester City, Real Madrid, and Inter Milan have all qualified for the group stages of the upcoming 2023-24 Champions League competition.

The next edition of Europe’s premier club tournament will commence with the first qualifiers in a preliminary round scheduled for June 27 and June 30.

UEFA’s Champions League team of the 2022-23 season 

Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid)

Kyle Walker (Man City)

Rúben Dias (Man City)

Alessandro Bastoni (Inter)

Federico Dimarco (Inter)

John Stones (Man City)

Kevin De Bruyne (Man City)

Rodri (Man City)

Bernardo Silva (Man City)

Erling Haaland (Man City)

Vinícius Júnior (Real Madrid)

Man City dominate the Champions League Team of the Year as seven Treble-winning players make cut

More on this topic

Popular stories