Wednesday, February 8, 2023

England confirms Arsenal, Chelsea and Tottenham players’ World Cup shirt numbers

England confirms Arsenal, Chelsea and Tottenham players’ World Cup shirt numbers

The World Cup squad numbers for England’s 26-man roster have been given, with the competition slated to begin on Sunday, November 20.

The Three Lions will kick off their competition on November 21 against Iran, giving Gareth Southgate only a few days to prepare his team for their opening group stage match. 

Arsenal’s Bukayo Saka, Aaron Ramsdale, and Ben White were all included to the team, while Tottenham’s Harry Kane will lead England at the tournament in Qatar as captain.

Southgate will hope to guide his team to a better finish at the Euros than they achieved in Euros last summer..

Prior to that, they advanced to the semifinals of the World Cup in Russia and are among the favorites to win the prestigious trophy in Qatar.

Squad numbers can provide hints as to who the manager favors and who could start the tournament opener. In the Euros final against Italy last summer, eight of the starting XI sported a standard 1 – 11 number on their backs, despite Southgate’s denials.

Jordan Pickford, who has been England’s first-choice goalkeeper for the past two championships, is given the No. 1 jersey and is anticipated to start ahead of Aaron Ramsdale of Arsenal. White has performed well for the Gunners, but his No. 21 jersey means he may not start for Southgate’s team.

Kane will wear the famous No. 9 jersey and is one of the first names on the teamsheet, while Chelsea’s Raheem Sterling will don the No. 10 jersey. Eric Dier has been allocated the number 15, Saka has been given the number 17, Mason Mount will wear the number 19, and Conor Gallagher, his Chelsea colleague, will wear the number 26.

The World Cup players gathered at St. George’s Park on Monday prior to their journey to the Middle East. Below is the complete list of England’s World Cup squad numbers.

England’s World Cup squad numbers

1. Jordan Pickford

2. Kyle Walker

3. Luke Shaw

4. Declan Rice

5. John Stones

6. Harry Maguire

7. Jack Grealish

8. Jordan Henderson

9. Harry Kane

10. Raheem Sterling

11. Marcus Rashford

12. Kieran Trippier

13. Nick Pope

14. Kalvin Phillips

15. Eric Dier

16. Conor Coady

17. Bukayo Saka

18. Trent Alexander-Arnold

19. Mason Mount

20. Phil Foden

21. Ben White

22. Jude Bellingham

23. Aaron Ramsdale

24. Callum Wilson

25. James Maddison

26. Conor Gallagher

England confirms Arsenal, Chelsea and Tottenham players’ World Cup shirt numbers

Stay in touch!